STONE HARBOR SUCKS!

Thursday, August 14, 2014

Some Info from a blog reader:

Are you suspicious of the high bills and outrageous late fee’s? I began to research the AUM bills. I have uncovered that AUM is performing shady business practices such as payment date changes and over charging tenants with respect to the actual cost of Water & Sewer! 

 I am currently filling a CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT against AUM and need your support! 

 Please email me at aum@ferreirafilms.com to get a letter to sign and support this case!

Stone Harbor is Low Income Housing
Year Placed in Service 2004 - Total Number of Units 160.  157 of them are Low-Income units.  Number of Efficiences 0, Number of 1 Bedroom Units 32, Number of 2 Bedroom Units 80, Number of 3 Bedroom Units 32, Number of 4 Bedroom Units 16.

Monday, November 5, 2012

Can you get lower than 14%?

(Actually you can, as of Feb 14, 2013 it hit 12%)

Stone Harbor 501 Alf Coleman Road, Panama City, FL 32407
(850) 233-9711

AVERAGE RATING:  14% Recommend this place
Overall Rating:  2.0
2.5  Parking:
1.8  Maintenance:
2.5  Construction:
2.2  Noise:
2.2  Grounds:
2.7  Safety:
1.8  Office Staff:
For individual ratings on Stone Harbor take a look at:
http://www.apartmentratings.com/rate/FL-Panama-City-Stone-Harbor.html

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

AUM and Concord are stopped from fleecing residents

PCB closes loophole on water charges
Article at: http://tinyurl.com/9okjm69

Published: Tuesday, October 30, 2012 at 19:34 PM.

PANAMA CITY BEACH — The Panama City Beach Council has closed a loophole on an ordinance that allowed apartment complexes to overcharge residents for city utility services.

A city investigation into individual meter readings at Stone Harbor Apartments on Alf Coleman Road showed some residents were billed $9 to $10 per 1,000 gallons of water used, nearly three times the city rate.

The ordinance, which prevents the resale of city water and sewer services by any third party, was amended at the Oct. 11 council meeting, adding language to prohibit landlords from taking utility cost from vacant units or the common areas and distributing it among tenants.

“They weren’t breaking the law, but they weren’t following what we intended the ordinance to do,” Utilities Director Al Shortt said of the complex, which outsources billing to American Utility Management (AUM). Residents “were essentially paying for stuff that should have been absorbed by the community.”
Shortt said the complex, a Concord Management property, was allowing residents to pick up the bills for vacant units and also for the irrigation water in common areas.

The amended ordinance prohibits landlords from charging any more than the city would have charged the tenant, with the exception of an administrative charge not to exceed $3.

“Having the other tenants pay what is the landlord’s obligation, the landlord is making money,” said City Attorney Doug Sale, who provided clarification at the council meeting.

The amendment to the ordinance was prompted after Councilwoman Josie Strange received complaints from residents at Stone Harbor regarding utility bills.

Although the complex runs off one master meter, AUM sets up individual meters at each unit, allowing city officials to determine that many residents were being overcharged for their usage amount.

The city sent a notice of violation and cease-and-desist order to the complex in August, requesting documentation of the actual cost of operating the utility and also information from the third-party bill processor.

Shortt said Stone Harbor residents should see a reduction in their utility bills during the next billing cycle.

“They’re well aware of what they need to do,” Shortt said of AUM. “Now that the ordinance is in place, it should take care of those issues.”

==============================================

Misc FYI:  27 pages of letters and email regarding the City taking action against AUM and Concord are at the bottom of this blog site, they would take up to much room to put them on top. The names and email addresses of those who complained about Stone Harbor are redacted.
Direct link:   http://aumsucks.blogspot.com/2012/10/posted-by-picasa.html


Posted by Picasa

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

City tells Stone Harbor to 'Cease and Desist'

That's right Stone Harbor residents benefitted from a Notice of Violation and a demand for Stone Harbor to "Cease and Desist" its usurious water billings.

A resident complained to a City Councilman about the high rates for water by American Utility Management. The Councilman then brought the bogus charges to the Cities attention and after looking into it the City Attorney sent the below letter to Stone Harbor Partners Ltd, which is just Concord Management under another corporate shell. 


Note the line that says they must stop: "charging usurious rates which are far out of line with the City's rates set forth in . . . the City's Code".


Posted by Picasa

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Suit coming or not?

Is there a 'class action' suit coming against American Utility Management and Concord Management Ltd over gross overcharges in the water bills at this property?

Saturday, October 20, 2012

Posted by Picasa
I have put up this blog site so that the reviews about this Stone Harbor apartment rental site don't just disappear. Here is the site in case you want to go there directly:
http://www.apartmentratings.com/rate/FL-Panama-City-Stone-Harbor-1215052.html

The apartment rating site has or at least 'had' a site for North Bridge Apartments in Orlando, this is the 'flagship' and HQ of Concord.  It had quite a lot of negative reviews then last time I looked in a dozen of them were gone with just one in favor and one against.

The Stone Harbor apartments are managed by Concord Management, Ltd from Orlando (Maitland).  They have about 140 sites with 32,000-34,000 units in 7 states and from what I have read they do a crappy job across the board.

So in order that this below information remains online I am just going to paste the information into this site so when people 'google' Stone Harbor they will find this.

Note:  The complex is sometimes called 'Stone Harbour', just trying to be fancy I guess.


Drop by these blog sites for more information on Concord Mis-Management:
http://concordsucks.blogspot.com/
http://northbridgesucks.blogspot.com/
http://concordmanagementltd.blogspot.com/
http://stoneharborsucks.blogspot.com/
http://nautiluscondosrules.blogspot.com/


2 Local newspaper articles about Stone Harbor can be found at:
http://nautiluscondosrules.blogspot.com/search?q=stone+harbor

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

Ratings from the site are:

Better look around, this is a troubled community

From: jimsnidercalif@hotmail.com
Date posted: 3/1/2011
Years at this apartment: 2011-01-01 - 2011-01-01
User Response is available. 2 responses


I was following a link and came across superpages.com and a thread that had reviews of Stone Harbor which is our sister community here in PCB. Same developer and same Concord Management company that built and manages Nautilus Cove, 2 miles from Stone Harbor. Below are reproduced ratings of that community on this site: http://tinyurl.com/48htn6t

All the other rating sites I found are also negative, there are a few exceptions that seem to have been posted by the management. I think you could discount such flowery endorsements.


If you are wondering about Concord Management you might take a look at their flagship HQ in Orlando which is NorthBridge Apartments, that is where they have their main office for Concord, the BBB ratesd that place as an 'F' and there are loads of complaints about it also, for Concord generally 
see: http://northbridgesucks.blogspot.com

User Reviews of Stone Harbor in Panama City Beach-

DO NOT MOVE HERE!!!!! From: -Anonymous-
Date posted: 5/31/2012


Years at this apartment: 2010-01-01 - 2012-01-01

I have had nothing but problems. Managment changes like the weather around here. My tenant ledger is never correct and they consistantly add frivilous charges on my account and you have to go through tons of BS in order to get it fixed (which I have yet to get my money back). I am getting OUT OF HERE ASAP! The neighbors are totally inconsiderate, the kids in this place are HORRIBLE! The pool reeks of urine. The only good thing I have noticed in my 2 years here is the fact that its close to the beach..... THAT IS IT! The carpet has tons of burn holes, my cabinets were apparently peeling before I moved in so they patched the cabinets with scotch tape. I'd NEVER recommend this place. I'd rather pay DOUBLE the rent than to stay here another lease term! They pick and choose who they want to extend the rent decrease to, "everyone" does'nt qualify.... o.O Keep searching, this is not the place you want to be stuck in!

From: anonamous8463
Date posted: 1/24/2013
Years at this apartment: 2012 - 2013
User Response is available. 1 response
Manager Response is available. Manager Response is available.





This place sucks. its like projects on the beach. Bad kids and youth everywhere. Car was keyed anonymously for no reason. Management sucks as well as general customer service. Maintenance ghetto rigs everything. The pond with the fountain looks like trash and a sewer drainoff. The management SUCKS! Over charges for water Bill. They didn't give me the required by law 30 day notice that they were not renewing my lease and I had to be out! Poor management. You never can get a answer when calling the front office then you go up there and everyone is in one office laughing and looking like there on the computer doing stuff that doesn't consist of work. Would not recommend this place. Super small rooms even worse bathrooms. Strange people live here. One man stays outside all day I even seen him. walking to the corner store pick out used cig butts and smoke them. a lot of others outside all day and night on their front porch like its a stoop in the hood of new York. Overall I give it a 1 star.

Manager's Response

From: Manager Date: 01/24/2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Stone Harbor. We would like to hear more about your concerns with our team members and how we can better assist you. However, we noticed your posted anonymously. Please send us your contact information to YourView@ConcordRents.com.

Thank you.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

Update 2/11/13

Unfortunately, we have not received a response concerning the issues mentioned in this review. We assume they have been resolved. If you have any further questions, please email us at YourView@concordRents.com.

Thank you.

User Responses

From: whitelady1982 Date: 02/02/2013
This company will take your money but will not make the living situation comfortable for you I was really recommending moving there but the comments are horrible especially about the waterbill ..then they have a nerve to respond and knowing they are lying ..you can tell by the way they respond they are lying ..God protect the families that are there I feel so sorry for them!!!


Read more: http://www.apartmentratings.com/rate/FL-Panama-City-Stone-Harbor-1583964.html#ixzz2LksxOGzE

Last updated: 5/31/2012
Read more: http://www.apartmentratings.com/rate/FL-Panama-City-Stone-Harbor-1451237.html#ixzz1wUjKfxyz

Feb 22, 2011
by Guest64584
Feb 22, 2011
Do not even attempt to move in here! We waited an extra month to move just so that we could get a 4 bedroom apartment here and in that time it was nothing but problems! They rarely answer the phone and NEVER return phone calls or emails. I literally sat outside and called them. When no one answered, I went inside to find three people working but not answering the phones.


Also, it seemed like it was constantly one problem after another with the information they needed just to get the application approved. And, like another reviewer, our apartment was leased out from under us! One week before we were to move, I discovered they had given our 4 bedroom to someone else and was just going to put us in a 3 bedroom.


Did they think we would not notice that our apartment was missing a bedroom and bathroom?? I found this out after driving 3 hours to get to the apartment just to try to get a form that was supposed to be emailed to me. Why did they not tell us during one of the many phone calls??


Oct 21, 2010
by Guest22476
Oct 21, 2010
You do not want to move into this complex. The girls in the office could care less about any issues you have, and they will lose your rent several times over the years you live here. People are running out the door of this place due to poor customer service. They care more about how they look than the business they are trying to run.


May 29, 2009
by Guest62832
May 29, 2009
It was a great place to live a year ago but since there is all new management in the office the community has gone down as the just don't seem to take pride in the community. It is like a revolving door of people coming and going due to poor management. The maintenancee crew is great!

It is the people in the office who don't seem to care. Just wish we had Ms. Kim back in the office as she was very much involved in the community and made sure everyone followed the rules which people respected and the community was a great place to live but now it is not a place I want to stay and am looking for a better maintained community to move to.

User Responses

Wow..seems like some folks just love to complain! I applied at Stone Harbor & the young lady I spoke with told me upfront that it takes a bit longer than most places. She was very friendly and helpful. Ok she was the ONLY friendly one in the office so I was glad she was the one helping my family through the whole process!!


There were times I couldn't get anyone on the phone, but I always got a call back from the young lady that is the leasing person! I do have to say that the older 2 women in the office are quite rude always! I almost cancelled my paperwork cause I had to deal with them just once...
<>   </>
From: Anonymous Date: 03/05/2011
Rate this response
Rate


thumbs upthumbs down
Problem, Funny, Best of?
From: Anonymous Date: 05/06/2012
I just moved out of there a month ago on March the 28, 2012 when my lease was up. I give written notice that I was moving out 45 days before. I cleaned the place from too to bottom. I turned in all my keys including the gate key, pool pass and the sticker off my car. April in the office did the walk through. She wrote down no damage and I  signed it. Yesterday I received a certified letter thinking it was my $500.00 deposit. I opened it and instead it was a deposit deposition saing that I did over $900.00's worth of damage to the place and that they were keeping my deposit and they were charging me over $400.00"s more. They also charged me for rent pro rated for the first of April and I wasn't even there.


I called all day and i never was able to reach them. I left a message and no one even called me back. It upset me so bad. I am disputing it and i have a neighbor that seen it after I cleaned it and she even knows that there was nothing wrong with it. So if your thinking about renting there you better think twice cause they seem to do everyone dirty. I lived alone and i never had any company when I was there. When I moved in the people moved out a hour before i moved in and it wasn't even clean when I got there. It was cleaner when i moved out. So please beware!


Read more: http://www.apartmentratings.com/rate/FL-Panama-City-Stone-Harbor-1215052.html#ixzz1u62dpzIs

Monday, July 16, 2012

User Reviews


The person icon Empolyee Image indicates that the reviewer is an employee of SuperMedia LLC. SuperMedia operates and sells advertising on Superpages.com. The views expressed in reviews are the opinion of each respective reviewer and do not necessarilly reflect the view of SuperMedia.
1 of 5 stars
Oct 21, 2010
by Guest22476
business
Stone Harbor Apartments 501 Alf Coleman Rd,
Panama City Beach, FL 32407 USA
You do not want to move into this complex. The girls in the office could care less about any issues you have, and they will lose your rent several times over the years you live here. People are running out the door of this place due to poor customer service. They care more about how they look than the business they are trying to run.   
Was this Review helpful to you? Yes 11 No 0

1 of 5 stars
May 29, 2009
by Guest62832
business
Stone Harbor Apartments 501 Alf Coleman Rd,
Panama City Beach, FL 32407
USA
It was a great place to live a year ago but since there is all new management in the office the community has gone down as the just don't seem to take pride in the community. It is like a revolving door of people coming and going due to poor management. The maintenancee crew is great! It is the people in the office who don't seem to care. Just wish we had Ms. Kim back in the office as she was very much involved in the community and made sure everyone followed the rules which people respected and the community was a great place to live but now it is not a place I want to stay and am looking for a better maintained community to move to. (Hide)
Was this Review helpful to you? Yes 14 No 1
Report Abuse | Business Owner Reply to Review

above from:  http://www.superpages.com/bp/Panama-City-Beach-FL/Stone-Harbor-Apartments-L0111722239.htm?&rwtab=1#BPreviewContainer

==============================================

Review from Kudzu: 
http://www.kudzu.com/m/Stone-Harbor-19724824/reviews/
Stone Harbor  3 reviews        
501 Alf Coleman Road Panama City Beach, FL 32407       
Phone: (888) 483-2027      

by MovingToTheBeach at Citysearch
Posted on Citysearch on 2/22/2011
Do not waste your time
Do not even attempt to move in here! We waited an extra month to move just so that we could get a 4 bedroom apartment here and in that time it was nothing but problems! They rarely answer the phone and NEVER return phone calls or emails. I literally sat outside and called them. When no one answered, I went inside to find three people working but not answering the phones. Also, it seemed like it was constantly one problem after another with the information they needed just to get the application approved. And, like another reviewer, our apartment was leased out from under us! One week before we were to move, I discovered they had given our 4 bedroom to someone else and was just going to put us in a 3 bedroom. Did they think we would not notice that our apartment was missing a bedroom and bathroom??

I found this out after driving 3 hours to get to the apartment just to try to get a form that was supposed to be emailed to me. Why did they not tell us during one of the many phone calls?? While I was there, a resident came in and asked to have her apartment unlocked because maintenance locked her out and her keys were inside. She was there for at least 30 minutes (I left before she did) waiting for someone to come unlock her apartment that THEY locked. While these are beautiful apartments and a beautiful complex (in a great location), it is not worth all the headache and BS you have to deal with. We will not be accepting that 3 bedroom apartment!  Overall

by BeachyMe1 at Citysearch
Posted on Citysearch on 10/6/2010
 It is Great here!!
I have lived at Stone Harbor for 3 years now, just renewed my lease. There were issues til about 6mos ago. There is a whole new staff from manager to maintenance and things are much better now!! The gates, that never worked before with any of the other managersWork Now!! :) And they are enforcing the rules to live here. There are definitely rules for living on this property but I Love it. We finally have people in that office who care enough to enforce the rules for a safe and peaceful place to live. ...  Overall
         

by mega me at Citysearch
Posted on Citysearch on 6/15/2010
WHAT EVER YOU DO DONT MOVE HERE.

THE STAFF IS VERY RUDE. ESPECIALLY THE DISTRICT AND REGIONAL MGR. THEY WILL LIE TO GET HERE.. WATER BILL EVERY MONTH IS 90. TO 140.. WHEN NORMAL WATER BILLS ON THE BEACH ARE 60 EVERY 2 MONTHS. THEY FIRED A REALLY GOOD MAINTANCE MAN THAT WAS THE BEST WE EVER HAD.

NOW WE HAVE A GUY THAT CANT EVEN CLEAN THE POOLS MUCH LESS FIX THE A C THAT KEEPS GOING OUT. THEY KEEP RAISING THE RENT IN THE MIDDLE OF OUR LEASE. I THINK IF EVERYONE HAD A PLACE TO GO THEY WOULD MOVE OUT OF HERE. SOMEONE SHOULD HAVE A LOW DEPOIST AND FREE FIRST MONTH SPECIAL. IF THE COMPANY WOULD GET RIDE OF THE COWS IT WOULD BE A BETTER PLACE. ALL THEY CAN THINK ABOUT IS THERE BOUNUS.   

Monday, July 9, 2012

Stone Harbor Bed Bug Infestation

Bed bugs spotted in Bay County




Panama City - A nuisance that was largely eradicated during World War II is making a come back: Blood sucking bed bugs are turning up all over the country.
Posted: 10:41 AM Feb 24, 2011 -  WJHG.COM
Reporter: Amber Southard
Email Address: amber.southard@wjhg.com

Panama City - A nuisance that was largely eradicated during World War II is making a come back: Blood sucking bed bugs are turning up all over the country.




They’re usually found hiding in bed mattresses. Called Cimicidae, but better known as "bed bugs," the small parasites feed on the blood of warm-blooded animals, including humans. And since 1995, they've been spreading across the U.S. at near epidemic levels.
"A person calls once every two months, but it seems like lately I’ve had more calls -- At the end of 2010, the last two or three months of 2010 and January -- more than I’ve ever had," said Epidemiology Specialist Michael Fluharty.
A viewer alerted us to one of the latest reports at Stone Harbor Apartments on Panama City Beach.
Virginia Ballard, her daughter, and 5 year old grandson have lived at stone harbor for five months. She's concerned about reports of bed bugs in neighboring apartments.
"There’s a small child in the house, and I heard that's really serious (the bed bug situation), and I’ve heard that they travel from place to place and they're really hard to get rid of," said Ballard.
Stone Harbor Corporate officials say, "Any residents with a pest concern of any kind are dealt with expeditiously by a licensed pest control contractor."
They say only one apartment had bed bugs and they've handled the problem. The insect's bite causes skin rashes, psychological effects and allergic symptoms.
"It’s not only the bed bug bite itself, but it's us scratching and introducing bacteria that can cause further problems," said Fluharty.
But officials say you can start looking for bed bugs by just lifting your mattress.
"You find little blood stains -- and you can find them on sheets, especially if you have white sheets. It's a good idea if you have white sheets, so you can see what's going on," said Fluharty.
If you spot the signs, call an exterminator. Health officials believe this current increase in bed bug infestations may be due to more people traveling to less developed countries, and more people buying second-hand furniture.

Read Comments
Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station

by jacob on Feb 26, 2011 at 04:58 PM
I beleive I am the apartment they are talking about. The situation I called about should have been dealt with after the 1st month I moved in. I called riligiously to get them to come out, and when they finally came, they said it was fleas!! So now, I have to move, buy a new mattress, get rid of furniture, and be without an apartment for almost a month. Stone Harbor appearently doesn't care about their residents.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
by Cindy Location: Panama City Beach on Feb 25, 2011 at 02:50 PM
Stone Harbor says they only have ONE apartment with bugs and they have dealt with it? They are attached together like eight apartments in one! they crawl through the walls!! how can they lie like that! the whole place should be gutted!
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
by cme123 Location: destin on Feb 24, 2011 at 07:56 PM
contact your local pest control they are who the hotels call to get rid of there bed bugs....it takes several months.if they will even say anything...due to laws of privicy...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
by Debbie Location: Panama City on Feb 24, 2011 at 05:08 PM
Bed bugs were a problem at Kapalua Apartments on Joan Avenue 2 years ago.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
by beach guy on Feb 24, 2011 at 12:12 PM
If they are at stone harbour apts, then they will be spreading to all the condos and hotels the foreign workers work at. Lots of foreigners living at stone harbour apts, you see them walking down the road there all the time. Jeez, 1st oil, now bed bugs, what next?

From:  http://www.wjhg.com/home/headlines/Bed_bugs_spotted_in_Bay_County_116781548.html

Sunday, July 1, 2012

Stone Harbor

from Yahoo.com direct link:  http://local.yahoo.com/info-14011363-stone-harbor-panama-city-beachtone  

(877) 484-0984
501 Alf Coleman Rd, Panama City Beach, FL 32407
6 Reviews
  • Hours:  Please call for our current hours of operation
  • Payment:Check
  • Specialities:Conveniently located to Beautiful Panama City Beach just minutes from the Beach, Conveniently located to Beautiful Panama City Beach just minutes from the Beach, highway 98 and Highway 392. Stone Harbor boasts large closets and is energy efficient.
  • Products and Services:Apartment Rentals quote
  • Languages Spoken:English
  • Other Contact Info:TOLLFREE: (877) 484-0984
All comments for Stone Harbor Sort by:Most RecentRating

  • Bryan
    Posted on 09/11/11
    F*ck this place and the people who run it.It's a sh*thole. I can't wait to move out of here.
  • natasha
    Posted on 05/03/11
    This place is absolutely horrible. the management are a bunch of irritible coogers who will lash out with poor attitudes if you request for maitanance. The first week the new tall goofy maintanance started my diamond bracelet came up missing. The water bill is 125$ for a one bedroom when I was on vacation for three weeks and is the same regarless if I use water or not. I can here our neighbors screwing through the paper thin walls at 2 in the morning. Washer, dryer and dish washer barely works; however, i am still paying 80$ for it every month. I just can't wait to move out of this place!!!!
  • shelly
    Posted on 06/18/10
    All of those reviews are not real residents. This the crappiest place I have ever lived. They got rid of the best maintanence this place has ever had. Now they just have some big old tard. There is trash all. over the property. Nothing gets fixed right. The pools are always dirty. The trash compacter is. Always broken now. The rent keeps getting raised before the lease is up. The water bill is 130. A month when it should only be 50 or 60 every 2 months. This place is a rip off. Management needs to learn manners.they are the most rude people in world. If the CEO only knew what these people have been doing.
    • resident
      Posted on 01/13/10
      We have lived here for about 7 months and this has been the worst 7 months of our lives the walls are so thin the neighbor kids have shouting matches with their parents have talked to the office and we know now it is a waste of time.. I can see out my front door without even looking out my peep hole their is such a gap and the door has been repared before. The office staff would not live here even if they got free rent!!!
    • Tini
      Posted on 03/19/07
      We lived here for 4 months and they were nothing but helpful. Any questions we had or problems, they were quick to answer or fix. Beautiful apartments and beautiful property! Only 3 blocks from the beach!
    • paula
      Posted on 02/11/07
      I am a resident here for almost 3 years and haven't had any problems. Stone harbor is very people and kid friendly with all the extras that they provide for their residence. Whether your a young or old there is always something happening at Stone harbor. A great place to live.
      madalyn3
      funny how this comment sounds just like an ad for the place! HMMMMMMMMMMM. FISHY!